

Richmond Football Club ABN 25 679 793 340 ACN 005 563 011 Swinburne Centre, Punt Road Oval PO Box 48, Richmond VIC 3121 03 9429 5333 info@richmondfc.com.au richmondfc.com.au

# MINUTES of the 136th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING RICHMOND FOOTBALL CLUB LIMITED HELD ON MONDAY, 14<sup>th</sup> December 2020 AT 5.30PM In the Maurice Rioli Room at Punt Road Oval and via Videoconference

# 1. Welcome from the President

The President, Peggy O'Neal, acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land and elders, past and present. She then welcomed the members in attendance at the 136th annual general meeting of the Richmond Football Club, which was being held via videoconference due to COVID restrictions. The President outlined the process for the submission of questions and for voting on the two resolutions before the meeting.

The President introduced director Tina de Young, director and CEO Brendon Gale and Company Secretary Michael Stahl, who were all present with her at the Maurice Rioli room. She then introduced the remaining Board members, who were all present online. The President noted that this was Malcolm Speed's last meeting as a director, Malcolm having served the maximum term, and thanked him for his contribution.

The President then declared that the Company Secretary had received 67 proxies for the purposes of voting on resolutions at the meeting and that there was a quorum present to conduct the meeting.

## 2. Convening of Meeting

Michael Stahl, the Company Secretary, convened the meeting and made the following statement: "In accordance with Clause 6 of the Richmond Football Club's Constitution, a notice was placed on the Club's website on Friday 30<sup>th</sup> October 2020, advising that the Annual General Meeting of the Richmond Football Club would be held at the Richmond Football Club at 5.30pm on Monday 14<sup>th</sup> December 2020, together with a list of business which has to be dealt with at the meeting."

## 3. Apologies

The Company Secretary noted that no apologies had been received for the meeting.

## 4. Previous Minutes

The Company Secretary advised the meeting that the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting had been made available on the Club's website.

The Company Secretary requested a motion to approve the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting as presented.

Moved: Garry Cameron Seconded: Luke Littlefield

Voting on the motion would be carried out online and the result declared at the conclusion of the Financial Report.

## 5. Election of Directors

The President declared a poll in relation to the re-election of two directors of the Club. John O'Rourke and Joe Powell had been elected unopposed.





AWARE. DISCIPLINED. RELENTLESS. UNITED.



## 6. Finance Report

The President introduced Tina De Young, director and chair of the Club's Finance and Audit Committee. Tina delivered the Club's finance report, including coverage of the legal requirements associated with the tabling of the financial statements for the year ended 31 October 2020.

A question had been received regarding the increase in investments on the balance sheet, which was addressed. There were no other questions regarding the finance report.

The President requested a motion to accept the finance report and the financial statements for the year ended 31 October 2020.

Moved: Garry Cameron Seconded: Luke Littlefield

Voting on the two resolutions before the meeting closed at 5.41pm. Following the completion of the online voting process, the President announced that both resolutions were passed with the required majority.

## 7. President's Report

Peggy O'Neal delivered the President's report and congratulated the coaches and the player group on the 2020 AFL Premiership win in a difficult year. The President highlighted significant milestones, which included Dustin Martin winning the Norm Smith medal for the third time, the only player in history ever to do so. The President noted that the AFLW did not have a premier this year due to COVID and that the VFL and VFLW competition did not take place for the same reason. The President thanked the board, management and staff for their efforts throughout a challenging year, as well as the members for their continuing support and the Club's sponsors and commercial partners.

The President noted that written questions had been received in relation to a number of specific items. All items questions were addressed.

#### 8. Football Report

The President introduced the Club's Coach, Damien Hardwick, who presented the highlights of the 2020 season, culminating in the AFL premiership. Damien congratulated the top five "best and fairest" players (Kamdyn McIntosh, Shai Bolton, Nick Vlastuin, Dustin Martin and Jack Dyer medal winner, Jayden Short). Damien thanked the Club's 100,000 plus members for their loyal support and acknowledged the Board, the management team and the coaching staff for their hard work throughout the year. Finally, Damien introduced the Club's newly drafted players, Samson Ryan and Maurice Rioli Junior.

#### 9. Acknowledgments

The President acknowledged the players who had left the Club in 2020 as well as those players, members, officials and supporters who had passed away during the previous 12 months.







# 10. Life Members

The President noted that, to date, the Club had awarded life membership to 399 players, officials, coaches, sponsors and supporters of the Club.

The President then announced the following two new Life Members, who will be presented with their certificates and pins in person at a future date:

- Alan McDonald
- > Noah Bolter

# 11. Alice Wills Award

The President announced the recipients of the Alice Wills Award, which recognises the significant contribution to the Club made by volunteers. There were three recipients of the Award in 2020, all of whom will be presented with their awards in person at a future date:

- > David Ward
- > Alicia Almeida
- Dennis Cook

## 12. Other Business

The President answered a number of general questions from members.

#### 13. Closure

There being no further business, the President declared the 2020 Annual General Meeting of the Richmond Football Club closed at 6.25pm.

Signed as a true record of this meeting.

Peggy O'Neal - President

Date





AWARE. DISCIPLINED. RELENTLESS. UNITED.